What is the Best Color and Clarity for a 2 Carat Diamond?

When it comes to a 2 carat diamond, several factors play into its worth. However, in a sense, “best” is a subjective term. One person considers the best diamond and may be vastly different from what others might deem the best. While personal preferences do influence the “best” diamond, it’s also vital to consider the quality of the stone so that you can rest assured that you’re getting what you’re paying for. A diamond’s worth is determined by the 4Cs – cut, color, clarity, and carat. Color and clarity are important factors so use this guide to help you understand what to look for.

Diamond Color

Diamond color is graded on a scale from D to Z.

  • A diamond with a grade of D is colorless and considered of the highest worth.
  • An E or F diamond is also colorless, but slightly less so than a D-graded stone.
  • Diamonds with a grade of G through J are nearly colorless
  • Those with a grade from K through M have a faint color.
  • A grade of N through R means a diamond has a very light color, and
  • A grade of S through Z means a stone has a light color.

The reason why color plays a role in a diamond’s cost is that it affects the shine and brilliance of the gem. A colorless diamond has more sparkle, which makes it more desirable.

While the color of a diamond is an important consideration when choosing a stone, you may find that you like one that has a slight tint to it. This is a unique characteristic that sets some diamonds apart from others and if you love a diamond, it likely doesn’t matter what its color is graded, so keep that in mind when you’re making a selection.

Diamond Clarity

Clarity refers to the inclusions that can be seen in a diamond. One that is free of inclusions is considered flawless and holds the highest value. Some diamonds have inclusions that can’t be seen, lowering their cost, but still being a gem you might call the best.

  • Flawless and internally flawless are the highest grades a diamond can be given.
  • VVS1 or VVS2 grades mean a diamond has very, very slight inclusions that must be magnified to be seen.
  • A grade of VS1 or VS2 means the stone has very slight inclusions that might only be detected with magnification.
  • SI1 or SI2 means the diamond has slight inclusions that might be visible without magnification.
  • I1, I2, or I3 means the gem has inclusions that can be seen with the naked eye.

Most experts will tell you to choose a diamond with the highest clarity that you can afford. Many inclusions aren’t visible to the naked eye and won’t be seen on the diamond, which can save money without sacrificing appearance.

Learning more about a diamond before buying it ensures that you’re getting the best 2-carat diamond for you. Examine the color and clarity so that you get what you want without overpaying.